This section describes how to add and use user groups in Sisense.

How Do User Groups Work?

  1. When building and sharing dashboards, wherever you can select a user, you can also select a user group. For example, you can share a dashboard with an entire user group at once.
  2. When you add an additional user to an existing user group, then that user is automatically awarded the permissions of that user group.
  3. When users are added in Active Directory to a previously imported Active Directory user group, then those users are automatically added to the corresponding Sisense user group.
  4. User groups can only contain users. They do not support nested user groups.
  5. Additional users cannot be added to a user group that was imported from Active Directory.

You can add users to a user group using the following methods:

  • Add existing Sisense users to a user group
  • Add a user group from Active Directory

Accessing User Group Management

You can add, edit and delete user groups, and assign users to them.

To access the user group settings:

  • Click ADMIN in the top-right corner and select the GROUPS tab on the left. A list of the previously defined user groups is displayed. The Origin column displays Sisense or Active Directory to indicate whether the user group was defined in Sisense or imported from Active Directory.

If no user groups have yet been defined, the following message is displayed: No Groups Found

Adding a New User Group

The following procedure describes how to add a new user group by selecting users from existing users in Sisense.

See Adding a User Group from Active Directory for a description of how to add a user group from Active Directory.

To add a new user group:

  1. Click ADMIN in the top-right corner and select the GROUPS tab on the left.
  2. Click ADD GROUP.
  3. In a Group Name field, enter the name for this user group.
  4. In the Group Users field select each of the users that belong to this group. To add each user, start typing in the user’s name. An auto-complete list is displayed showing the users that already exist in Sisense. Select a user name to add to the group.
    Note: If you want, you can leave the group empty and add members to it later.
  5. (Optional) The Default Language for a group is the language set by an Administrator for that server. From the Default Language list, you can select another default language for a group. For example, if your server supports groups located in different countries, you can set the language for each group.
  6. (Optional) Select the default user role, Viewer or Designer. Each member of the group is assigned this role when they are added to the group
  7. Click Save.

Adding Users to an Existing User Group

The following procedure describes how to add one or more users to an existing user group.

To add multiple users to a user group:

  1. Click ADMIN in the top-right corner and select the USERS tab on the left.
  2. Select the check boxes next to the users’ names for the users that you want to add to the user group.
  3. Click ADD TO GROUP.
    Users-and-Groups-4
  4. Type in the field at the bottom of the window to select an existing user group or to create a new one.
  5. Click ADD.

Editing an Existing User Group

To edit an existing user group:

  1. Click ADMIN in the upper right corner and select the GROUPS tab on the left.
  2. Click the Pencil Users and User Groups -5 button on the right of the user group’s entry in the list.
    Note: To remove a user from the Group, hover over the user name in the list and click the Trash Users and User Groups -6 button.
    Users and User Groups -11

Deleting a User Group

When a user group that was entered in Sisense is deleted, its users are not deleted. They remain active users in Sisense.

When a user group that was imported from Active Directory is deleted, a prompt is displayed asking whether you want to also delete all the users in this user group from Sisense.

To delete an existing user group:

  1. Click ADMIN in the upper right corner and select the GROUPS tab on the left.
  2. Click the Trash Users and User Groups -6 button at the right of the user group’s entry in the list.